Weekly Workout Recap II

Hi Friends! Hope the weekend went well and you are all relaxing on this lovely Sunday night. As per usual, I am not at all ready for work again Monday. This weekend was the first one I can consider comfortably cool here in Houston and I just want to spend some more time outside snuggled up in a nice hoody talking over life with the boy. Alas, I guess I can’t have it all.

Moving on, here is a quick run through of my workouts for the week. I should have known last week when everything went perfect that I was due for some rough workouts and this week definitely delivered just that.

Monday – 3 mile recovery

I guess one of the other problems of coming off of a super great week with good mileage is that your kind of pooped. I was happy with how last week went but came into Monday pretty run down and lacking motivation. I originally planned on doing a 5 mile recovery but quite honestly just got bored on the treadmill and figured it would do no harm to cut it a little early.

Tuesday- Speed Work
Warm Up 
2 x 800 at 6:49 
Cool Down 

This run did not go as planned at all. I am only a few weeks out from marathon weekend at this point and with all the hard training I have put in I am starting to get super paranoid about a little injury coming up out of nowhere. After my first sprint I felt a slight nagging in the arch of my heel and took a pause to stretch and rub at it before continuing on. Unfortunately, I felt it even more sharply in my second sprint at which point I decided to call in a night and not push it. :/
A little stretching and foam rolling followed when I got home..as well as walking extremely lightly like that could solve the problem.

Wednesday – Retry at the speed workout- 7.15 miles

After a rough time of it Tuesday I came into Wednesday pretty cautious and worried about my foot. Instead of doing my usual full out sprint workout I decided instead to do a different type, running 3 minutes at a light pace followed by 2 minutes at about 80-90% effort. Luckily this seemed to work out well and I didn’t experience pain in my foot again. I honestly think it was caused by the heels I wore to work on Tuesday.

Thursday- Recovery 3.71

Another light slow run, that was once again cut short by my lack of motivation and feeling like I just needed to chuck it up to a really crappy week.
At this point I started really getting into my head about the half marathon on Sunday.

Friday- REST

Saturday- REST

Sunday- 13.1 Laporte Half Marathon

I will have a more thorough race recap on this in the next few days but overall I was extremely happy with the result. New PR despite an exceptionally daunting bridge and MAJOR stomach pain.

More to come later…

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a comment